React Conf 2017: From Carpools to Code Cartoons

I started as an intern at Blend back in the summer of 2015, and that fall I decided I was going to return to Blend full time when I graduated. One big reason I decided to make Blend my home was that I really felt Blend valued me as an engineer. I was given large amounts of freedom with my projects even as an intern, and I felt that leadership was there to help me grow and learn rather than to simply tell me what to do. Now that I’ve been an engineer here full-time for about eight months, I still have just as much, if not more, freedom and support than I did initially. One way Blend supports us and helps us grow as engineers is by sponsoring our trips to technical conferences.

Earlier in March I was fortunate enough to attend React Conference 2017 in Santa Clara. It was my first conference, and I wasn’t really sure what to expect. I started working on a React Native project in October and have been loving it so far, so the idea of going to a React conference where I would get to immerse myself in the topic for a couple of days was extremely exciting.

Looking back, I wish I had done a few things differently, and despite the fact that I enjoyed myself tremendously I certainly learned some lessons. I hope to impart what I learned on any engineers who might be attending their first conference in 2017.

Opening keynote by Tom Occhino
Opening keynote by Tom Occhino – Credit: Facebook Developers